Facebook Trusted Contacts

Facebook’s Trusted Contacts

How does the song go? “Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends”.

Well, you certainly can when it comes to Facebook’s ‘Trusted Contacts’.

Whilst not well known, this facility allows you to recover your account if you find yourself in a situation where you are locked out and do not have access to the email address or telephone number you have registered with Facebook.

Time and time again we get enquiry from people looking for help after being locked out and only then realising their account has an old email address or previous work mobile number registered against it.

Well, if you go through the following steps to set up your Facebook Trusted Contacts, you can prevent that issue from every happening again.

Step 1. Click the down arrow in the top-right corner of the page, then click:
Settings & Privacy > Settings

Facebook Trusteed Contacts guide

Facebook Trusteed Contacts guide

 

Step 2. You’ll then be presented with a list on the left-hand side of your page. Go to the second option down from the top being:
‘Security and login’

 

Step 3. On the resulting Security and login page go to the 5th section down entitled ‘Setting up extra security’ and go to the second box down called ‘Choose 3 to 5 friends to contact if you are locked out’ and click on the ‘Edit’ button.

Facebook Trusteed Contacts guide

Step 4. Start typing in your chosen friends and then select them when they pop up. Once you’ve selected all that you wish to include, click on the ‘Confirm’ button and you’re done!

Facebook Trusteed Contacts guide

So, next time you’re unable to access your account or can’t reset the password through email, you can use this option to generate a recovery code via your Facebook trusted contacts via ‘Forgot Password’. Note that you will need a code from all your ‘trusted contacts’, so make sure that you nominate friends regularly in touch with.